UW Continuing Nursing Education Earns Accreditation with Distinction


Four-Year Accreditation Awarded to UWCNE

On September 25, 2017, Continuing Nursing Education at the University of Washington School of Nursing (UWCNE) was awarded Accreditation with Distinction by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s (ANCC) Commission on Accreditation. Accreditation with Distinction is the highest recognition award given by the ANCC Accreditation Program. Organizations accredited with distinction have completed a review without any progress report requirement. ANCC’s web directory of accredited organizations will reflect this special designation. UWCNE’s accreditation is for four years, September 25, 2017 to March 31, 2022.

Reflective Learning Tools Recognized as Exemplary

In the accreditation award letter from ANCC, UWCNE received special recognition for creating two reflective learning strategies that document improvements in professional practice as a result of something learned from one of UWCNE’s continuing education offerings. The two strategies, Clinical Examples and Practice Examples, have elicited thousands of participant stories that illustrate improvements in many areas of nursing practice and patient outcomes, including patient safety, interprofessional communication, critical thinking, patient education, mentoring skills and nurse well-being. 

Worldwide Healthcare Education

Each year, UWCNE provides education to over 6000 healthcare professionals in the U.S. and throughout the world. The mission of UWCNE is to provide excellence in lifelong learning for nurses and other healthcare professionals and to foster a community of nurses who strive to provide the highest quality evidence-based nursing care for their patients. UWCNE is a self-sustaining service of the University of Washington School of Nursing and has been accredited for 40 years as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

Registrants last year came from forty-seven states, Washington, DC, US military posts in Europe and the Pacific (AE and AP) and twenty-two countries including Afghanistan, Australia, Canada, China, Egypt, Federated States of Micronesia, France, Guam, India, Ireland, Italy, Northern Mariana Islands, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, South Africa, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, and the United Kingdom.

  • 84% = Pacific Northwest states (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA)
  • 15% =  Other U.S. states (42 states)
  • 1% =  Other countries (22 countries)


Learn more about UW Continuing Nursing Education!


UW School of Nursing Continuing Nursing Education | Box 359557 | Seattle, WA  98195 | 206-543-1047 | cne@uw.edu | uwcne.org